2026 FIFA World Cup: Format, Host Countries, and Key Details

The 2026 World Cup promises to be an exciting and historic event, bringing some major changes to the tournament’s format and a unique multi-country hosting arrangement. Here’s everything you need to know about the 2026 World Cup in North America.

When and Where is the 2026 FIFA World Cup?

The 2026 World Cup will take place in three North American countries: the United States, Mexico, and Canada. This marks the first time that the tournament is jointly hosted by three different nations, and it’s also the inaugural occasion that the event will be held in Canada. A total of 16 venues across these three countries will serve as host cities for the 2026 World Cup, with the United States contributing 11, Canada hosting 2, and Mexico providing 3 venues.

The Format:

One of the most significant changes for the 2026 World Cup is the alteration of the tournament’s format. Previously, it featured 32 teams, but in 2026, it will expand to include 48 teams. These teams will be divided into 12 groups of four.

This new format will result in a total of 104 games, which is an increase from the original 80 games. In the former format, there were 16 groups, each containing three teams. Now, the top two teams from each of the 12 groups, along with the eight best third-place teams, will advance to the Round of 32. This change aims to make the competition more inclusive and exciting.

Host Cities and Stadiums:

The host cities for the 2026 World Cup will be spread across the three participating countries:

United States (11 Host Cities):
1. Atlanta – Mercedes-Benz Stadium
2. Boston – Gillette Stadium
3. Dallas – AT&T Stadium
4. Houston – NRG Stadium
5. Kansas City – Arrowhead Stadium
6. Los Angeles – SoFi Stadium
7. Miami – Hard Rock Stadium
8. New York/New Jersey – MetLife Stadium
9. Philadelphia – Lincoln Financial Field
10. San Francisco – Levi’s Stadium
11. Seattle – Lumen Field

Canada (2 Host Cities):
1. Toronto – BMO Field
2. Vancouver – BC Place

Mexico (3 Host Cities):
1. Guadalajara – Estadio Akron
2. Mexico City – Estadio Azteca
3. Monterrey – Estadio BBVA


The 2026 World Cup is scheduled to take place from June 8 through July 3, providing fans with a month of thrilling soccer action.

How to Watch:

For viewers looking to catch the 2026 World Cup action, here are the details:

  • When: June 8 through July 3, 2026
  • TV Channels in English: Fox
  • TV Channels en Español: Telemundo, Universo, Peacock

With this expanded format and a unique multi-country hosting arrangement, the 2026 World Cup is set to be a memorable event for soccer fans worldwide. Mark your calendars and get ready to witness the world’s top teams competing on North American soil.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected