Spain beat England 1-0 in final to lift first ever FIFA Women’s World Cup

Spain beat England 1-0 in final to lift first ever FIFA Women’s World Cup

Sydney witnessed history as Spain secured their first Women’s World Cup championship by defeating England 1-0. A critical 29th-minute goal from full-back Olga Carmona ensured Spain’s triumph over the favored English team. Amid a match filled with missed opportunities, Spain emerged victorious after 103 minutes of regular-time play.

Guided by their captain’s leadership, Spain outperformed England throughout the final, despite a second-half penalty miss. The momentous win holds immense significance for Jorge Vilda and the Spanish football federation, who stood by the coach despite around 15 players expressing reluctance to play under his guidance last year.

Spain’s triumph marked a significant milestone as the fifth nation overall and the third European country to lift the Women’s World Cup since its inception in 1991, joining the ranks of Germany, the USA, Norway, and Japan.

In a poignant moment witnessed by Spain’s Queen Letizia, captain Olga Carmona’s 29th-minute goal secured the lead and ultimately the victory for Spain. England, led by coach Sarina Wiegman, faced challenges as they missed early opportunities and failed to level the score despite strategic changes.

Despite moments of shift in momentum, Spain displayed dominance in the second half, supported by an organized defense. The game also witnessed contentious fouls on both sides. Spain had a golden opportunity to extend their lead with a penalty, but Jennifer Hermoso’s miss offered a sigh of relief to the English camp.

With 13 minutes of injury time added, England’s efforts to equalize, including a last-second header, proved futile. Spain emerged as the winners with a 1-0 scoreline, securing their first silverware in the Women’s World Cups.

Olga Carmona‘s decisive goal in the 29th minute paved the way for Spain’s historic World Cup triumph. Spain’s achievement places them in the esteemed company of World Cup champions like the United States, Germany, Norway, and Japan.

The victory also concludes a remarkable treble for Spain, having previously clinched victories in the Under-20 and U-18 World Cups in the preceding year.

World Cup Golden Ball award: Aitana Bonmati

Spain’s Aitana Bonmati entered this World Cup determined to showcase her status as the best player globally. Her outstanding efforts earned her the well-deserved Golden Ball award for being the tournament’s top player. With three goals and two assists, Bonmati’s impact on Spain’s World Cup victory was immense. She skillfully controlled the midfield, creating beautiful passes, facilitating connections, and displaying exceptional defensive prowess.

Additionally, Spain boasted the tournament’s finest young player, Salma Paralluelo, who scored goals during the quarterfinals and semifinals.

World Cup Golden Boot award: Hinata Miyazawa

The Golden Boot, given to the World Cup’s leading scorer, was claimed by Japan’s Hinata Miyazawa. She scored five goals before Japan’s quarterfinal exit.

England’s Mary Earps, who made a crucial penalty save in the final, earned the title of the tournament’s top goalkeeper. On social media, some even dubbed her “Mary, Queen of Saves.”


Next FIFA women’s World Cup?

The location for the 2027 World Cup host remains unknown. However, it’s likely that the United States will be considered due to the rising interest in women’s sports and the rapid growth of the NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected